A new place to keep my pencils

Though I was able to spend a large chunk of my weekend wallowing in self pity over my employment status, I eventually overcame my gloom and went shopping. As everyone knows, laughter may be the best medicine, but shopping is the best therapy. A pair of boots and a couple bowls of homemade caramel corn later, I feel a little better.

Under construction

Adding to my personal well-being was the completion of my Spoonflower swatch project! I decided to construct a pencil case from the fabric. I must say, I am very happy with the result. I will be even happier with it when someone comments on it and my response will be, “Thanks, I made that. No, really. I even designed the fabric.” Boo. Ya. Though the fabric swatch was small, the pouch is plenty big to hold pens, pencils, and the occasional chapstick. As I didn’t get to go back-to-school shopping this fall, the pencil holder also helps fills the void that new school supplies used to occupy. And that, my friends, is as much as I think I’ll be able to say about a home-sewn zippered wonder. Here’s another picture of the completed item.

Sorry for the one on the right being a little blurry. Just think of it as an impressionist painting.

If you need something to look forward to, I have a couple vaguely to mildly exciting things coming up. First, something that is actually a little exciting, is the second installment of the Little DIpper interview series. On Friday, I will post another Q&A with Katie Schrader, Etsy shopowner and aspiring fabric designer. Check out her Wild Notions shop and Spoonflower page! Beyond that, I have been working on a series of new designs, which I will be posting over the next couple of days. If you want a sneak peek at some of the new designs and some classic LD patterns, check out my Society6 page. Once there, you can buy prints, laptop clings, and iPod cases created by yours truly. Preeeeeettttty exciting if you ask me.

Til next time, LD

One thought on “A new place to keep my pencils

Leave a Reply

