Saying my last goodbyes to summer and embracing the autumn leaves

Spotted: the last vestiges of summer at the Minnesota Arboretum

Coming into season: Honeycrisp apples and all types of pumpkins and gourds

We’re at that point in the year where the weather is crisp and the leaves are starting to change and all I want to order at the coffee shop is a Pumpkin Spice Latte. It finally really feels like fall even if there are days when it still seems like summer. I visited the Arboretum with my mom this week and experienced all facets of the current season. We saw everything from blooming pink roses to bumpy orange and yellow gourds.  Along with a stroll around the grounds, we also sat in on a class of eager 1st and 2nd graders on their field trip (my mom is a volunteer at the Arboretum and brought me along with her to observe the lesson). I learned, to my surprise, that things I had always assumed were vegetables were actually fruits…and I’m not just talking about tomatoes. Peppers, corn, squash, zucchini — all fruit. Surprisingly, I think I was more shocked than the 1st graders to learn this information. Apparently, anything with seeds on the inside is a fruit, at least according to a botanist. Now, I know there are some nerds out there who will read this and think, wow Liz, I already knew that.  Well, congratulations to you, but I’m pretty sure my veggie pizza should be called fruit pizza. I’m just saying.

In other news, I revitalized my Etsy shop this week! All my browsing in finding some cool artists to interview (like Mishel of Aeropagita Prints) inspired me. I made some items last summer that I meant to sell, but never got around to setting up shop. Now that I have the time, because of my recent “fun”-employment, it seemed like a good time. Check it out if you wish! I’m hoping to add to the listed items soon. Right now, I just have some beaded bobby pins listed, but I look forward to expanding on the inventory as I continue to create.

My pattern today was inspired by the fall colors and all the changing leaves. Enjoy!

Now onto a night of Parks and Rec and Project Runway. Perfect. Plus, I just found out I can get a free refill. #happythursday

Leave a Reply

