Allow me to reintroduce myself, I’m Liz. And I’m back.

Can't beat fall at NU, well maybe spring at NU, but fall is still pretty great

It has been too long since I last posted. I apologize. Hopefully I’ll be better this week. Part of the reason for the delay in new posts was a trip back to Evanston to relive my college days… I’m not sure if that’s what you call it when you still don’t really feel like you’ve graduated, but nevertheless I’m still coming to terms with the fact that I am no longer a wildcat. Just an old cat now, I guess.

I’ve been filling my working hours with Caribou Coffee and job searching, while my down time has been spent mostly watching season 2 of Mad Men. Why is it that the only time I find inspiration for a blog post is times when I’m either in the shower, going for a run, or engrossed in the goings on of Sterling-Cooper while my laptop sits idly at the other end of the room?

As you probably guessed, I am really only watching Mad Men for the clothes. And Don Draper.

I think I’ve gotten weaker since coming home. No, I’m sure of it. How could you not when you suddenly have all the conveniences of living in a real home with a full time chef/maid/therapist (i.e. my mother)? I really need to snap out of it. And I’m sure I will… just as soon as I finish season 3.

During my slump, I have been doing some creative things, like breathing new life into old thrift store finds. Admittedly, thrift stores are my weakness. Where else can you get a vintage scarf for 50 cents? Or leather belt from the 80s that looks like you bought it at Urban Outfitters? Its great. This trip was especially great because everything at Arc’s Value Village was 50% off for Labor Day. (Yeah I know, I haven’t posted in a while.) This meant that I got the following items for less than $20.

Starting at top left and moving clockwise: romper, 2 scarves, earrings, and belt, button-down dress, vest, and shift dress

So normally, I might not get so many items that need to be, ermm… updated, but I was feeling pretty ambitious that day as it is fall, and, as I mentioned earlier, I am not going back to school. So I bought some dye, made some sketches, and channelled Tim Gunn to bring some of these items up to date.

I started with the romper. It needed help, but had potential. I liked the print and it came with a belt made from the same fabric that I liked a lot. First, I cut out the built in shoulder pads. Honestly, just doing that made the top fit well. Second, I ripped out the seam that created the two leg holes. As much as rompers have come back into style, I was hesitant about rocking the look, especially in a full body suit. Third, I sewed seams down the front and back converting the gaucho-like pants into a skirt. Fourth, I shortened and hemmed the garment, et voila! With black tights and booties, this look really came together.

The next project will be the vest… hopefully after a short soak in the dark brown die the teal and purple will reach more appropriate shades, less reminiscent of the early 1990s. I’ll keep you updated.

For now, I’m going to hold off on posting my most current pattern. Photoshop crashed as I was trying to work with the vanishing point tool. You’ll see why that matters soon enough 🙂 So I will now bid you adieu as I am about to get lost in the extra big Arts&Leisure section of the Sunday Times.

One thought on “Allow me to reintroduce myself, I’m Liz. And I’m back.

  1. I can’t believe the difference you made in that romper. Great job finding the gold in something that was originally one of the most appalling things I’ve ever seen.

Leave a Reply

