Falling into Minnesota Life

This is the first time in 17 years that I have not gone “Back to School.” I realize this as I sit at Dunn Bros. Coffee, while a group of presumably 15-year-old girls oggle each others new backpacks and mourn the loss of summer. I presume them to be 15 because they look like they could drive, but one of them brought their mother, so I’m guessing none of them have turned the big 1-6 yet otherwise I’m thinking they would have left the mom at home.

The weird thing is that I thought it would feel really strange to not go back. To school, that is. But, in a lot of ways, I feel pretty grown up. A lot of years separate me from those girls drinking their blended coffee drinks with their bleached out summer hair. As Britney Spears once said, “I’m not a girl, not yet a woman.” But actually. Goodness, why am I quoting Britney? I should be quoting Kant or something right? I mean I did graduate from Northwestern. Meh. Whatever. Sorry, Kanye, but Britney is the voice of our generation. Sort of. I mean I guess its a tie between Britney and Sasha Obama. Well, whatever, you decide.

Back to the fact that its September finally. Gahhh, this is such a strange time of year because it still sort of feels like summer, but the breeze is getting a little cooler and humidity has subsided. There’s something in the air that makes jeans more appealing than dresses, and its not just the temperature. Its just a matter of weeks before we’ll all be raking the lawn and baking apple pie reminiscing about family vacations and days at the beach. So as the last days of the MInnesota State Fair are upon us, I write this blog post with hope that Fall doesn’t go by too fast, because I’m not sure I’m ready for another blizzard just yet.

So, there you have it. For all of you who are going back to school, here’s a print that’s sure to get you in the mood for breaking into that spankin’ new 32 pack of Crayolas.

Leave a Reply

