If Little Dipper took over the world…

In my internship, which I have mentioned briefly in this blog, part of my job is to weed through pages and pages of digital versions of magazines to put together a database of all the available titles. I have found, in my searching, that there are a couple of total beasts when it comes to publishing monthly periodicals, most notably Martha. You know who I mean. She has Martha Stewart Living, Everyday Food, Whole Living, and Martha Stewart Weddings. Again. BEAST.

So I got to thinking…what if I were a magazine queen? What would my magazines be like? What would I put on the cover and how would the design look? Then, I thought that maybe I should test it out, see what I could come up with.

So, after an evening of watching Superbad, trolling my iPhoto for acceptable photos, and dinking around on Photoshop, here it is. My three magazines: Little Dipper Food, Elle Dee, and Travel Dip. More issues next month! Well…maybe.


So, there you go. Think I have a future in magazines? Which was your favorite?

Seriously, if you read this, take the poll. Its my first, and I want to see how it works, yo. As a treat, anyone who takes the poll will get something verrrrry special when they visit this link. No really. CLICK IT.

So now, I bid you adieu, but leave you with this quote to ponder:

I’m over here in my unit, isolated and alone, eating my terrible tasting food, and I have to look over at that. That looks like the most fun I’ve ever seen in my entire life, and it’s B.S. – excuse my language. I’m just saying that I wash and dry; I’m like a single mother. Look, we all know home-ec is a joke – no offense – it’s just that everyone takes this class to get an A, and it’s bullshit – and I’m sorry. I’m not putting down your profession, but it’s just the way I feel. I don’t want to sit here, all by myself, cooking this shitty food – no offense – and I just think that I don’t need to cook tiramisu. Am I going to be a chef? No. There’s three weeks left of school, give me a fuckin’ break! I’m sorry for cursing.

– Seth, Superbad, 2007

"Good shit, right Miroki?"

And with that, I end this post. As always, there will be more to come.

Leave a Reply

