Little Dipper’s Day Off

Yesterday was a really good day. It included: waking up at noon, drinking a fresh cup of coffee (made from a FREE bag of beans), spending the afternoon at the Museum of Contemporary Art, browsing the shops in Belmont, eating dinner with three great friends, and ending the night with a Hippie Shake (banana, peanut butter, and honey milkshake) at Kafein. To top it all off, we headed to Nevin’s after Kafein and the bartender gave us free beer! It was grand.

My sister and her friend are in town, so I finally had an excuse to do some exploring and legitimately take the day off from thinking about the real world (but not the Real World which always somehow slips itself into the conversation when me and Kels are together). And, happily, in spite of my day of rest, I received emails from two prospective employers. No job offers yet, but I feel so much better getting some feedback from a couple of the 20+ applications I have sent out.

my excuses to take the day off

The museum was entirely inspirational. I loved the Mark Bradford exhibit. I love big paintings. They just make you feel like you’re really in it. I don’t want to geek out too much on you, so suffice it to say, I liked it and it makes me want to paint. I have never really worked on an abstract painting, but now I want to try. I think pattern and abstract painting have some similarities. If I get time, I think it could be a good summer project.

So the museum itself was great, but I think we can all agree that the museum gift shop, as I said yesterday, is really the “cherry on top” of the whole museum experience.  There are books, postcards, and millions of other artsy fun things that you would never buy, but always want to. A purse made from a billboard sign? A necklace constructed out of bottle tops? A solar-powered waving Queen of England (see below)? All amazing. All over-priced. All worth going to a contemporary art museum to see.

Long live the Art Museum Gift Shop!

Perhaps the most enjoyment I got from any one item in the museum gift shop was this book titled Colorstrology: What Your Birthday Color Says About You. I know they make these things so that everyone thinks the description fits them even though it could really fit anyone, but I honestly think the results of this book were a little creepily close to real life (at least for my sister and me). My sister got a rich shade of red as her birthday color, coincidentally, red is one of her favorite colors. I got dusty shade green, which if you knew me well you would know basically describes the color palette for most of my apartment and a lot of my wardrobe. Its also one of those colors I just like. In fact, the original Little Dipper logo was going to be in a similar shade before I decided to go with a more playful bright orange and yellow palette.

A sampling of images illustrating my love for this hue.

So I will conclude this post with the promise that I will post another design project soon and the hope that “soon” means the same for you as is does for me. Time is subjective, right? Just like technology is cyclical? (Thank you, Dennis Duffy for that terrific line.) Anyways…. till next time, LD

Leave a Reply

